Faculty Awards

ECE Honors 2021-2022 Staff and Faculty Award Winners

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin held a banquet on Thursday, April 28 to honor staff and faculty for their successes and contributions during the 2021-2022 academic year.

WNCG faculty and staff were among this year's award winners.

Jeff Andrews Wins 2021 Joseph LoCicero Award

The IEEE Communications Society has awarded 6G@UT Director Jeffrey Andrews the 2021 Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications.

The annual award recognizes exceptional contributions to meetings, conferences, publications, globalization, and service to the Society. Nominees have made notable contributions to the quality, scope, or visibility of those publications.

Anand, de Veciana, Shakkottai Awarded William R. Bennett Prize

WNCG alumnus Arjun Anand and WNCG professors Gustavo de Veciana and Sanjay Shakkottai have been awarded the 2021 William R. Bennett Prize from the IEEE Communications Society.

The prize is awarded annually to the authors of a single paper published in either in IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking or the IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management. The paper must have been published within the last three years prior to the award.

Andrea Alu Awarded Dan Maydan Prize

WNCG professor Andrea Alù was named a recipient of the Dan Maydan Prize in Nanoscience Research for 2021.

The prize is awarded annually to an emerging and outstanding young scientist. It honors significant academic accomplishments in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology. The prize was established in 2019 by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, in conjunction with the American Friends of the Hebrew University (AFHU).

Al Bovik Recognized for Algorithms that Optimize Video Streaming

The National Academy of Television and Arts & Sciences has awarded Alan Bovik, professor in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, and his team of student collaborators with a 2020 Technology & Engineering Emmy® Award. The team will be recognized for algorithms that optimize streaming media to millions of homes around the globe.


Subscribe to RSS - Faculty Awards