IEEE Communications Society

WNCG Alumni Win Major IEEE ComSoc Paper Awards

WNCG alumni were among the recipients of major paper awards from the Communications Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE ComSoc). The awards were presented at the International Conference on Communications (IEEE ICC), which took place virtually last month.

Anand, de Veciana, Shakkottai Awarded William R. Bennett Prize

WNCG alumnus Arjun Anand and WNCG professors Gustavo de Veciana and Sanjay Shakkottai have been awarded the 2021 William R. Bennett Prize from the IEEE Communications Society.

The prize is awarded annually to the authors of a single paper published in either in IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking or the IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management. The paper must have been published within the last three years prior to the award.

Jeff Andrews Elected Chair of IEEE CTTC

WNCG professor Jeff Andrews has been elected Chair of the Communication Theory Technical Committee (CTTC) of the IEEE Communications Society. 

CTTC sits at the forefront of theoretical research on communications. The committee is especially interested in “novel use of communication theory and/or information theory to solve problems in areas that include (but are not limited to) source and channel coding, storage, modulation, detection, estimation, synchronization, multiple access, interference mitigation, and networking.”

Harpreet Dhillon Receives RCC Early Achievement Award

WNCG alumnus Harpreet S. Dhillon has received the 2020 IEEE ComSoc Radio Communications Committee (RCC) Early Achievement Award for contributions to radio communications.

According to IEEE, the award “recognizes members of the IEEE Communications Society who have achieved early career visibility in the field through research and service to the RCC.” Candidates must have completed their Ph.D. within 10 years of their nomination. The award is conferred once a year at the International Conference on Communication.

Prof. Jeffrey Andrews Receives IEEE Communication Society Wireless Communications Technical Committee Recognition Award

Prof. Jeffrey Andrews of Texas ECE has been named the recipient of the 2019 Wireless Communications Technical Committee Recognition Award from the IEEE Communication Society.

The award is given annually to a “person with a high degree of visibility and contribution in the field of “Wireless and Mobile Communications Theory, Systems, and Networks.” Prof. Andrews will receive the award next month at the upcoming IEEE Global Communications Conference in Hawaii.

WNCG Alumnus Appointed Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE T-MBMC

Prof. Chan-Byoung Chae has been appointed Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Molecular, Biological, and Multi-scale Communications (T-MBMC). The official term of service, which began Jan. 1 2019 and ends Dec. 31 2020, is renewable for up to two additional years. 

Prof. Robert Heath Wins IEEE Communications Society Award

WNCG professor Robert Heath received IEEE Communications Society’s (ComSoc) 2018 Wireless Technical Committee Recognition Award. The commendation recognizes Heath’s “high degree of visibility and contribution in the field of ‘Wireless and Mobile Communications Theory, Systems, and Networks.’”

Prof. Jeff Andrews and Students Win 2018 Leonard G. Abraham Prize

Prof. Jeff Andrews, along with Texas ECE alumnus Sarabjot Singh, and recent PhD recipient Mandar Kulkarni, along with their Nokia Bell Labs co-author Amitava Ghosh were awarded the 2018 Leonard G. Abraham Prize from the IEEE Communications Society. This award recognizes the best paper over the previous 3 years in the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communication. Jeff and his co-authors were recognized for their paper: "Tractable Model for Rate in Self-Backhauled Millimeter Wave Cellular Networks”, IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, October 2015.


Subscribe to RSS - IEEE Communications Society