WNCG Alumni

WNCG Alumni Win Major IEEE ComSoc Paper Awards

WNCG alumni were among the recipients of major paper awards from the Communications Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE ComSoc). The awards were presented at the International Conference on Communications (IEEE ICC), which took place virtually last month.

Namyoon Lee Receives 2021 IEEE-IEIE Joint Award

WNCG alumnus Namyoon Lee has been named recipient of the 2021 IT Young Engineer Award, an IEEE-IEIE Joint Award. The annual award recognizes an engineer under the age of 40 whose contributions to the field have made a significant impact on society.

Anand, de Veciana, Shakkottai Awarded William R. Bennett Prize

WNCG alumnus Arjun Anand and WNCG professors Gustavo de Veciana and Sanjay Shakkottai have been awarded the 2021 William R. Bennett Prize from the IEEE Communications Society.

The prize is awarded annually to the authors of a single paper published in either in IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking or the IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management. The paper must have been published within the last three years prior to the award.

Exploring Passive RFID Tag Use For Sensory Technology

In his research paper, “RTSense: RFID based Temperature Sensing,” WNCG alumnus Dr. Swadhin Pradhan and Prof. Lili Qiu explore how passive RFID tags could address the problem of battery-dependent sensory devices. 

WNCG Alumnus Nitin Jonathan Myers Accepts Faculty Position

Nitin Jonathan Myers has accepted a position at the Delft University of Technology, in Delft, the Netherlands. He will join the faculty as a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the Delft Center for Systems and Control (DCSC), with a focus on signal processing.

Alumni Profile: Kalpana Seshadrinathan

Texas ECE sat down with WNCG alumna Dr. Kalpana Seshadrinathan (PhD, 2008) to discuss her career in electrical and computer engineering. Seshadrinathan is part of the team that received a 2020 Technology & Engineering Emmy® Award.

Rajiv Khanna Receives Best Paper Award at NeurIPS 2020

WNCG alumnus Rajiv Khanna and his colleagues Michal Derezinski and Michael W. Mahoney received the Best Paper Award at NeurIPS 2020. Their winning paper, “Improved Guarantees and a Multiple-Descent Curve for Column Subset Selection and the Nyström Method,” was presented in the conference’s Learning Theory track. The paper was one of three to receive the distinction for 2020.


Subscribe to RSS - WNCG Alumni