WNCG & 6G@UT Faculty Receive Awards & Endowments

Share this content

April 25, 2024

The Chandra Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering celebrated its 120th anniversary this year, and on Thursday April 18th the department closed out the festivities with the annual Faculty & Staff Awards.

WNCG and 6G@UT Faculty made a strong showing for the 23-24 academic year, with seven faculty members receiving awards or endowments:

Faculty Awards:

Junior Faculty Spirit Award

·         Jon Tamir

Departmental Service Award

·         Constantine Caramanis

Gordon T. Lepley IV Endowed Memorial Teaching Award

·         Gustavo de Veciana

Junior Excellence in Teaching Award

·         Ruochen Lu

Faculty Endowments:

 Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering #8

·         Deji Akinwande

 Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professorship in Engineering #6  

·         Andreas Gerstlauer           

 Temple Foundation Endowed Faculty Fellowship #7

·         Atlas Wang   

In addition, Ruochen Lu, Aryan Mokhtari, and Amy Zhang each received the Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF), a prestigious accolade intended to “support early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization.”

Aryan Mokhtari was also awarded a Google Research Scholar Award, which aims “to support early-career professors who are pursuing research in fields relevant to Google.”


News category: