Anand, de Veciana, Shakkottai Awarded William R. Bennett Prize

Share this content

May 21, 2021

WNCG alumnus Arjun Anand and WNCG professors Gustavo de Veciana and Sanjay Shakkottai have been awarded the 2021 William R. Bennett Prize from the IEEE Communications Society.

The prize is awarded annually to the authors of a single paper published in either in IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking or the IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management. The paper must have been published within the last three years prior to the award.

Anand, de Veciana, and Shakkottai’s paper "Joint Scheduling of URLLC and eMBB Traffic in 5G Wireless Networks," appeared in IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 28, April 2020. The paper develops algorithms (including those using online learning) that permit ultra-low-latency data traffic (URLLC) to be overlayed over high-throughput data traffic (eMBB), such that both types of traffic are simultaneously supported in emerging 5G wireless networks.

Read the abstract and access the paper via IEEE.

Arjun Anand is currently a research scientist at Intel Labs. He received the Ph.D. from The University of Texas at Austin in 2018 and was advised at WNCG by de Veciana. His research interests include resource allocation in data networks, signal processing, and decision making in stochastic systems.

More information