An image of a woman smiling in front of a banner.

WNCG Alum Derya Malak Wins Best Paper Award

Sept. 30, 2022
Professor Derya Malak has won the Best Paper Award at the 20th International Symposium on Modeling and Optimization in Mobile, Ad hoc, and Wireless Networks (WiOpt 2022). Malak, who is currently an assistant professor in the Communication Systems Department at EURECOM, was recognized for her solo-authored paper, “Throughput and Energy Tradeoffs for Retransmission-based Random Access Protocols.” The paper extends work on the fundamentals of massive Internet of Things uplink communications that Malak conducted during her Ph.D. and in collaboration with Howard Huang of Nokia Bell Labs.
A man in glasses is smiling for the camera.

Xingqin Lin Receives IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Early Career Award

Oct. 29, 2021
WNCG alumnus Xingqin Lin is the recipient of the 2021 IEEE Vehicular Technical Society Early Career Award. The annual award recognizes outstanding scientists or engineers under the age of 35 who have contributed to the field of mobile radio, motor vehicles, or land transportation. Lin was commended for his “contributions to mobile communication systems and connected aerial vehicles.”
Ieee communications society logo.

WNCG Alumni Win Major IEEE ComSoc Paper Awards

July 23, 2021
WNCG alumni were among the recipients of major paper awards from the Communications Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE ComSoc). The awards were presented at the International Conference on Communications (IEEE ICC), which took place virtually last month.
An asian man in a suit and tie.

Namyoon Lee Receives 2021 IEEE-IEIE Joint Award

July 12, 2021
WNCG alumnus Namyoon Lee has been named recipient of the 2021 IT Young Engineer Award, an IEEE-IEIE Joint Award. The annual award recognizes an engineer under the age of 40 whose contributions to the field have made a significant impact on society.
Ieee communications society logo.

Anand, de Veciana, Shakkottai Awarded William R. Bennett Prize

May 21, 2021
WNCG alumnus Arjun Anand and WNCG professors Gustavo de Veciana and Sanjay Shakkottai have been awarded the 2021 William R. Bennett Prize from the IEEE Communications Society. The prize is awarded annually to the authors of a single paper published in either in IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking or the IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management. The paper must have been published within the last three years prior to the award.
An asian woman smiling for the camera.

Qi Lei Wins Oden Institute Outstanding Dissertation Award

May 10, 2021
WNCG alumnus Dr. Qi Lei has received the 2021 Oden Institute Outstanding Dissertation Award. Her winning dissertation, “Provably effective algorithms for min-max optimization," proposes optimization algorithms to find the equilibrium point of two-player zero-sum games. Read the dissertation abstract and find the link to the full text via the University of Texas Libraries. At WNCG, Lei was advised by Prof. Alex Dimakis; she was co-advised by Dr. Inderjit Dhillon from the University of Texas Department of Computer Science.
Two people in business attire standing in front of a grey background.

Exploring Passive RFID Tag Use For Sensory Technology

April 26, 2021
In his research paper, “RTSense: RFID based Temperature Sensing,” WNCG alumnus Dr. Swadhin Pradhan and Prof. Lili Qiu explore how passive RFID tags could address the problem of battery-dependent sensory devices. 
A man in a suit and tie posing for a photo.

WNCG Alumnus Nitin Jonathan Myers Accepts Faculty Position

April 2, 2021
Nitin Jonathan Myers has accepted a position at the Delft University of Technology, in Delft, the Netherlands. He will join the faculty as a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the Delft Center for Systems and Control (DCSC), with a focus on signal processing. He received his Ph.D. in 2020 from the University of Texas at Austin, where he was a member of WNCG advised by Prof. Robert Heath. Since graduating, Myers has worked as a Senior Engineer with Samsung Semiconductor on the 5G modem research and development team.
Kalpana seshrinthan, phd, computer machine learning engineer, apple outstanding women of texas e.

Alumni Profile: Kalpana Seshadrinathan

March 9, 2021
Texas ECE sat down with WNCG alumna Dr. Kalpana Seshadrinathan (PhD, 2008) to discuss her career in electrical and computer engineering. Seshadrinathan is part of the team that received a 2020 Technology & Engineering Emmy® Award. TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOURSELF.
Two asian men standing in front of a computer.

Chan-Byoung Chae and Kaibin Huang Elevated to IEEE Fellow

Jan. 5, 2021
WNCG alumni Chan-Byoung Chae and Kaibin Huang have been elevated to Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for 2021. Elevation to Fellow is a prestigious distinction conferred upon select members of the institute whose “extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting” for the accolade. Chae was honored for contributions to MIMO design and prototypes for emerging communication systems; Huang for contributions to wirelessly powered communications and multi-antenna communications.