WNCG Celebrates Five Faculty on Highly Cited Researchers 2021 List

Share this content

November 16, 2021

WNCG is proud to announce that five of our faculty have been named on the annual Highly Cited Researchers™ 2021 list from Clarivate:

Andrea Alù is the founding director of the Photonics Initiative at the CUNY Advanced Science Research Center, Einstein Professor of Physics at the CUNY Graduate Center, and Professor of Electrical Engineering at The City College of New York. He is affiliated with the Wireless Networking and Communications Group and the Applied Research Laboratories, both based at the University of Texas at Austin, where he is a Senior Research Scientist and Adjunct Professor. His research interests span over a broad range of technical areas, including applied electromagnetics, nano-optics and nanophotonics, microwave, THz, infrared, optical and acoustic metamaterials and metasurfaces, plasmonics, nonlinearities and nonreciprocity, cloaking and scattering, acoustics, optical nanocircuits and nanoantennas.

Jeffrey Andrews is the director of 6G@UT and the Cockrell Family Endowed Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. An IEEE Fellow and ISI Highly Cited Researcher, Andrews has received several awards, including the 2015 Terman Award, the NSF CAREER Award, the 2021 Joseph LoCicero Award, 2021 Gordon Lepley Memorial Teaching Award, and the 2019 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu technical field award. He has been co-recipient of 15 best paper awards, including the 2016 IEEE Communications Society & Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2014 IEEE Stephen O. Rice Prize, the 2014 and 2018 IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize, the 2011 and 2016 IEEE Heinrich Hertz Prize, and the 2010 IEEE ComSoc Best Tutorial Paper Award. 

Alan Bovik holds the Cockrell Family Endowed Regents Chair in Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, where he is Director of the Laboratory for Image and Video Engineering (LIVE). He is a faculty member in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the Wireless Networking and Communication Group (WNCG), and the Institute for Neuroscience. His research interests include digital television, digital photography, visual perception, social media, and image and video processing. Dr. Bovik has received several major international awards, including: a Technology & Engineering Emmy Award (2021), the Progress Medal from the Royal Photographic Society (2019), the IEEE Fourier Award (2019), the Edwin H. Land Medal from the Optical Society of America (2017), a primetime Emmy award (2015), and the Norbert Wiener Society Award (2013), among others.

Robert Heath is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University. He is an Adjunct Professor and Senior Research Scientist in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. He is also President and CEO of MIMO Wireless Inc., Chief Innovation Officer at Kuma Signals LLC. His research interests include several aspects of wireless communication and signal processing: limited feedback techniques, multihop networking, multiuser and multicell MIMO, interference alignment, adaptive video transmission, manifold signal processing, and millimeter wave communication techniques.

Nanshu Lu is an Associate Professor in UT’s Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, where she holds the Temple Foundation Endowed Teaching Fellowship. Dr. Lu's research focuses on the mechanics and manufacture of flexible, stretchable, and bio-integrated electronics. She leads an interdisciplinary group working on four major research areas: mechanics of flexible and stretchable structures, mechanics at bio-electronics interface, 2D materials for imperceptible bioelectronics, and freeform manufacture of soft bioelectronics. Dr. Lu’s work has appeared in high impact journals such as Science, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Materials, PNAS, Advance Materials, Nano Letters, and ACS Nano.

The highly anticipated annual list identifies researchers who demonstrated significant influence in their chosen field or fields through the publication of multiple highly cited papers during the last decade. Their names are drawn from the publications that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and publication year in the Web of Science™ citation index.

The methodology that determines the “who’s who” of influential researchers draws on the data and analysis performed by bibliometric experts and data scientists at the Institute for Scientific Information™ at Clarivate. It also uses the tallies to identify the countries and research institutions where these citation elite are based.

David Pendlebury, Senior Citation Analyst at the Institute for Scientific Information at Clarivate said: “It is increasingly important for nations and institutions to recognize and support the exceptional researchers who are driving the expansion of the world’s knowledge. This list identifies and celebrates exceptional individual researchers who are having a significant impact on the research community as evidenced by the rate at which their work is being cited by their peers. The research they have contributed is fueling the innovation, sustainability, health and security that is key for our society’s future.”

The full 2021 Highly Cited Researchers list and executive summary can be found online here.

More information


News category: